Co-browsing: a feature dive

Finding the same page as your web user needing support isn’t enough. But full remote desktop control seems like overkill. If only there was a middle ground.

With WhosOn, there is.

Introducing WhosOn’s co-browsing feature.

But what is co-browsing, and how does it work? We dive deeper into this handy feature.


What is co-browsing?

Co-browsing is a WhosOn feature that strikes the perfect balance between explaining what to do to a customer, and doing it yourself.

It allows live chat agents to request to share the chat user’s screen — in every sense of the word. As well as seeing the user’s web browser, the agent can use it.

The chat agent can scroll, click, and type alongside the user. If the need arises, they can annotate sections of the page, highlight key information, or even take control completely.

In short, co-browsing is exactly as the name implies — sharing a browsing session with the customer.


See co-browsing in action

Who uses it?

Co-browsing is used by agents and their chatting visitors.

Chat operators choose when to offer it to customers, by clicking to send a screen-share request. The user can then choose to accept this request.

From there, the agent and the customer use the feature together as they navigate through the query.


When would you use it?

Co-browsing is a useful feature when it comes to tricky processes on your website. For example, completing online applications, complex webforms, and user onboarding. Essentially, any time a user connects to chat for help with something they can do on your site.

In such instances, you might be able to talk the customer through the procedure. But the moment they get stuck, it can become difficult to explain what to do next.

That’s where co-browsing is the tool for the job.


How does it work?

To use co-browsing, the chat operator must click to send a screen-share request during a chat session. The customer accepts this request, and this starts the co-browsing session. There’s no need for the visitor to download any .exe files.

This means that the agent can now see the chatting visitor’s screen.

But, crucially, this screen sharing is confined to the web browser. (Rather than having access to the whole desktop, as with remote desktop control.)

So, the user is only sharing the relevant view — it’s secure and unobtrusive.

And that’s all there is to it. It’s that easy.



Why is co-browsing useful?

Co-browsing is an easy, convenient option when online visitors need help with tricky online processes.

Because it enables agents to guide the user through the process, it saves time. Customers don’t get frustrated or impatient — the agent can show them exactly what to do quickly and efficiently.

Plus, your visitors also not only get their solution, but also get to see and help implement it. This means that if they encounter a similar issue again, they know how to overcome it by themselves.

They’re included in the solution, and so feel as empowered as your agents.


Explore WhosOn

Co-browsing is but one of the many features that WhosOn has to offer. Why not explore further, with a 30-day free trial of WhosOn?


Useful links